Paper Dolls

She was right.

I was extremely selfish.

And now, I was broken too.

Their voices morphed into the monsters that had been chasing me in my dreams, and out of them.

And the hollowness inside me deepened till I was no longer human.

All I could hear now was the sound of my keyboard.

It drew me inside it,

kept me a prisoner of words and thoughts that I had once carefully typed out.

Life seemed so pointless. And I knew I would get nowhere in it.

I held the letter ‘I’ to my throat because it was the sharpest.

A stream of red began to flow, tainting my porcelain skin.

They all gathered. To watch, and to judge.

The light shined too bright. I could not see anymore, so I tried to think.

But, my brain was too busy shivering in my skull.

My heart could only pump cold blood.

It seemed I was made of paper.

I ripped easily.

 

 

Copyright notice:

© Zeinab Hassan Fawaz and Broken Dolls, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Leave a Reply

