Connections

I am no stranger

To the touch of my own hands

To the comfort of my own hugs

 

I know the way my words move

When I speak them

And understand what lines to make for you to swoon

 

I am familiar with the grainy nature of my voice

The way it melts like sugar in my mouth

Much like I am familiar with the bitter tides of my heart

 

My tongue knows

Every crease

Every curve

Of my two lips

Like it would like to know yours

 

My ponytail sashays excitedly when you’re near

Wagging from side to side

And my soul laughs nervously

At everything both

You

And I

Say or do

 

When grief is shared

It sits between two

Luring pain out from the

Hollows of our hearts

 

Your voice reaches over and kisses me

 

Copyright notice:

© Zeinab Hassan Fawaz and Broken Dolls, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Leave a Reply

