Family Lunch

Sitting at the table

Heart racing

 

I’m afraid to breathe

Afraid to see

Afraid to just be

 

My heart

Steals air from my lungs

And my hands stumble

Across cold wood

Wanting to hold

To be held

 

My jaw

Clamps around my cheek

Drawing blood

 

I’m reminded I am alive

 

My sister calls me

By one of my many names

None of which belong to me

 

I don’t belong to me

 

I belong to sadness

And fear

 

No home

But in the haunted places

Of my dreams

 

Shut my eyes

Close my ears

And scream

 

Hoping that no one can hear me

But praying to be saved

 

Copyright notice:

© Zeinab Hassan Fawaz and Broken Dolls, 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

2 thoughts on “Family Lunch

Leave a Reply

