Welcome!

So, this is a little late in the making, but it’s all good. I had originally published a welcome post when I first began this blog, but the whole concept changed so I thought the welcome post ought to too.

First of all, thank you for taking the time to read this and visit my blog! If you don’t like poetry, then this blog is not for you (just a warning-all are welcome). Most of my posts are poems, but occasionally I may throw in a short narrative piece or two.

Anyone who knows me, knows I’ve been writing since elementary school. Alhough, that doesn’t mean the writing was any good. In fact for a long time, it was pretty terrible, but I loved it nevertheless. Writing has been the one constant in my life. When I fell deep into mental illness, writing was the one thing it could not take away from me. It is part of me (which I am aware sounds very cliche, but I promise my poetry is definitely written better than this post).

I originally created this blog as an online journal, but it somehow morphed into me solely posting poetry. Most of these were written during a time when I was struggling with severe clinical depression, generalized anxiety, and obsessive compulsive disorder (which later resurfaced in the form of an eating disorder). A major obstacle in my recovery was the lack of awareness and stigma surrounding mental illness. So, I began to force myself to speak openly about my experiences, which was one of the hardest things I’ve had to do. To be honest, sometimes it’s still really hard.

Anyways, I wanted to share these poems because maybe they’ll mean something to someone out there, maybe they’ll make you feel understood, or maybe you’ll think they’re downright terrible. Whatever the outcome, I want to share my voice.

So, here I am. Unashamed and unafraid.

-Zeia

 

Copyright notice:

© Zeinab Hassan Fawaz and Broken Dolls, 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

 

Leave a Reply

