Can I Be Close to You?

I think of you

 

And tears pour out

instead of words

 

I think of you

 

And how you do not

want me

 

It does not matter

how much

I want you

 

I have held myself

in my arms

for too long

 

They no longer

sit comfortably

at my side

 

Reflexively

Compulsively

Connecting

hand to shoulder

 

In my dreams

your arms

feel soft

 

as my fingers

fill their emptiness

with you

 

They tell me

it’s not personal

 

It never is…

 

I agree

and contort my body

 

You cannot hate

what you cannot see

 

Copyright notice:

© Zeinab Hassan Fawaz and Broken Dolls, 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Leave a Reply

