Not Your Cup Of Tea

A hair afloat

In a brown sea

Makes its way

Over to me

 

Tender and true

My fingers reach out

And wrap around you

 

They don’t pull

And they don’t tug

They’ll keep you safe

They’ll keep you snug

While I melt away

At the bottom of this mug

 

Drink me up

Pour me down

It’s all right

I’ve already drowned

 

I won’t feel a thing

Not even the slightest sting

While you wring

Me dry

 

Wrap me around

The silver spoon

Your mom used

To feed you

 

Bend me

Break me

Throw me to the ground

Tell yourself

I won’t make a sound

 

Not a peep

Or a mutter

While my eyelids complete

Their very last flutter

 

I’ll say goodbye

To this world

That’s never been my ally

As I look to the sky

To see a sun

That’s already gone

 

Copyright notice:

© Zeinab Hassan Fawaz and Broken Dolls, 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Leave a Reply

